In Washington, you can vacate certain felony and misdemeanor convictions. Once your conviction is vacated, you can truthfully and legally say that you were never convicted of that crime.
A "vacated" conviction does not appear on a Washington State Patrol background or an FBI background check.
Vacating your conviction is a powerful tool for cleaning up your past and protecting your future. Unfortunately, this area of the law can be complicated.
Felonies and misdemeanors are treated differently. Class A felonies are treated differently than Class B and Class C felonies. Even domestic violence misdemeanor crimes are treated differently than regular misdemeanor crimes.
The law also underwent a massive change recently. In July 2019, Governor Inslee signed into law the New Hope Act, which loosened the restrictions for vacating convictions.
For these reasons, the information and advice that you find online isn't always accurate, even on many law firm websites.
Here are some other FAQ about vacating your criminal convictions in Washington.
How much do you charge?
We generally charge between $1,250 and $2,000 to vacate your conviction in Washington, depending on whether it's a misdemeanor (lower) or felony (higher), your criminal record, travel costs, and the court.
We also offer a detailed case review to help you decide whether you have a strong likelihood of success before moving forward. That service costs $250. If you end up hiring us, we apply that $250 to toward your total fee of filing and arguing the motion in Court.