You have a constitutional right to possess firearms under the Washington State Constitution and the U.S. Constitution.
But this right is not an absolute right. Your right is subject to many state and federal restrictions.
The most common restriction is your criminal record.
In Washington, you cannot possess or own or use firearms if you've been convicted of a felony or a domestic violence misdemeanor crime. Federal law is very similar.
Unlike some states, you do not get your rights back after a certain number of years following your conviction of a crime. You lost your right to possess firearms permanently.
Fortunately, you can file a petition to restore your firearm rights in Washington. Whether you can restore your rights depends mainly on two factors:
- Your criminal record
- The time between your crime and when you file your petition
FAQ: Washington Firearm Rights
A. Washington Firearms Law
B. Federal Firearms Law
C. Restoring Your WA Firearms Rights
D. How much do you charge?
We generally charge between $1,500 and $1,750 to restore your firearm rights in Washington, depending on two main factors
- Your county of residence
- Your criminal record (both inside and outside Washington)
This fee includes all court costs and filing fees.
E. Do I qualify to get my firearms rights back?
We offer a detailed case review for $250. We'll run your criminal record, conduct a detailed interview with you, do any necessary legal analysis, and then we'll give you a comprehensive written analysis of likelihood of success.
Then you get to decide whether you want to move forward. If you decide to move forward, we will apply this $250 fee toward your full fee.