Under Washington law, you must be at least 18 years old to possess and purchase firearms, with limited exceptions (described below.
You must be at least 21 years old to purchase handguns or semiautomatic assault rifles. You must also be at least 21 years old to apply for a concealed pistol license.
I am between 18 and 21 years old. What restrictions apply?
Unless certain exceptions apply, a person between 18 and 21 pay possess a handgun only:
- At your residence
- At your fixed place of business
- On real property under your control
I am less than 18 years old. Can I possess a firearm?
In Washington, a person under 18 years old may possess a firearm only in these cases:
- You are a member of the U.S. military (active duty or reserve) and you are on duty
- You are attending a hunter's safety or firearm safety course
- You are participating in an organized firearm competition
- You are hunting or trapping with a valid license
- You are traveling with an unloaded firearm for the specific purpose of:
- Moving to a new home
- Selling or transferring a firearm
- Traveling between your home and real property and the firearm is under your control
- between your home and property or for the purpose of selling or transferring your firearm
- You are possessing a firearm at your residence or business for the purpose of lawful self-defense, and with the permission of a parent or guardian