What is a concealed pistol license?
A concealed pistol license (CPL) allows you to carry a pistol concealed on your person or in close proximity except in prohibited areas (e.g. schools, airports, hospitals).
A CPL license is valid for five (5 years) from the date of issuance.
The fee for a first-time CPL is approximately $50.
Am I eligible for a concealed pistol license?
You must meet the following seven (7) requirements to carry a concealed pistol in Washinhttps://www.zuanichlaw.com/am-i-prohibited-from-possessing-a-firearm-under-federal-lawgton:
- You must be at least 21 years old when you apply
- You are a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident (i.e. green card holder)
- You are not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal law?
- You are not been convicted of a felony or domestic violence misdemeanor under Washington law
- You are not subject to a court order prohibiting you from possessing firearms
- You do not have an outstanding warrant for a felony or misdemeanor arrest in any court anywhere in the country
- You have been charged with a felony offense and you are out of custody awaiting trial, sentencing, or appeal
You also must have a valid Washington State driver's license or State issued ID
Washington is considered a “shall issue” state. That is, the State must issue you a CPL if you meet the statutory eligibility requirements.
How do I apply for a concealed pistol license?
First, you must complete an application.
Second, you must apply with in-person with your local county sheriff or your local police department. If you live in an unincorporated area, you can go to your local sheriff.
If you a non-resident, you can apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington.
You will be fingerprinted as part of the application process.
You do not need to attend a firearms training course before applying for a CPL.
How long does it take to get a concealed pistol license?
You will be issued a CPL in approximately 30 days if you have a valid Washington driver's license. If you don't have a license, you must wait approximately 90 days.
Can I carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle?
Yes, if one of the following applies:
- You are carrying the pistol on your person
- You are inside the vehicle and your pistol is in the vehicle with you at all times
- You can leave a pistol in your car, but your weapon must be locked inside the vehicle and concealed from view outside the vehicle
Without a CPL, your weapon must be unloaded and locked within the vehicle and concealed from public view.
Where can I carry a concealed firearm in Washington with a CPL?
- Restaurants (areas where persons under 21 are allowed)
- Roadside rest areas
- State / National parks and forests
- Traveling by bus / train / mass transit (with a permit)
- Airport (in the unrestricted area of the terminal, unless posted)
Without a CPL, you can only carry a concealed pistol at your residence or business.
You can only carry a concealed pistol at your residence or your business.
What weapons can I carry with a concealed pistol license?
You can only carry handguns with a CPL.
Where am I not able to carry a concealed firearm?
- Jails / Correctional facilities
- Law enforcement facilities
- Licensed child care facilities
- Public schools
- Mental health facilities (restricted areas)
- Bars or Bar areas of restaurants
- Airports (secured areas)
Of course, cities, towns, counties, and other municipalities can (and do) create additional gun-free zones.
Do other states recognize a Washington concealed pistol license?
Each State is different, but most do not recognize a Washington CPL, for one reason or another.
Oregon, California, and Hawaii, for example, do not recognize any out-of-state concealed pistol licenses.
Alaska will not recognize a CPL from Washington because Alaska requires a more stringent mental health background check than does our state.
Idaho does recognize a Washington CPL.