Call for a Case Review 206-829-8415

Do I have to petition the Court to remove my Sex Offender Registration requirement in Washington

In some cases, your duty to register as a sex offender ends automatically after 10 or 15 years without having to go to court.

In most cases, however, you will have to petition the court to remove your registration requirement under Washington law. 

To do this, you have to file your petition in the county where you were convicted of the underlying sex offense, unless you committed your crime in federal court or outside Washington. 

How long do you have to wait before you can file your petition?

The length of time depends on three (3) factors:

  • The type of conviction
  • The place of conviction
  • Whether you were convicted as an adult or juvenile

How do you calculate the waiting period?

This waiting period means you have spent this many consecutive years in the community without being convicted of a disqualifying offense.

Class A Felony

  • Adult conviction: 10 years
  • Juvenile convictions
    • 15-18 years old at the time of the crime: 5 years
    • 12-15 years old at the time of the crime: 2 years

Class B Felony

  • Adult conviction: 10 years
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 years

Class C Felony

  • Adult conviction: Not applicable. Your registration automatically expires after 10 years and you cannot petition early. 
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 years

Gross Misdemeanor

  • Adult conviction: Not applicable. Your registration automatically expires after 10 years and you cannot petition early. 
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 years

Federal Court

  • Adult conviction: 15 years
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 or 5 years depending on your age at the time of the crime and whether your crime is equivalent to a Class A felony under Washington law

Military Court

  • Adult conviction: 15 years
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 or 5 years depending on your age at the time of the crime and whether your crime is equivalent to a Class A felony under Washington law

Tribal Court

  • Adult conviction: 15 years
  • Juvenile conviction: 2 or 5 years depending on your age at the time of the crime and whether your crime is equivalent to a Class A felony under Washington law

Case Review

Contact us for a Case Review. We are available 24/7, including weekends and holidays.

1420 5th Avenue
Suite 2200

Seattle, WA 98101
206.829.8415
206.829.8545 (fax)
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun: 08:00am - 06:00pm

Menu