What is a concealed handgun license?
A concealed handgun license (CHL) allows you to carry a firearm concealed on your person or in close proximity except in certain prohibited areas (i.e. airport, schools, hospitals).
A CHL license is valid for four (4) years from the date of issuance, unless revoked.
Am I eligible for a concealed handgun license?
You must meet a number requirements to carry a concealed handgun in Oregon. These requirements are set forth in ORS 166.291:
- You must be at least 21 years old when you apply
- You are a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident (i.e. green card holder)
- You are not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal law
- You have not been convicted of a felony or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a felony under Oregon law
- You have not been convicted of a simple misdemeanor or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a misdemeanor within four (4) years of the date of your CHL application
- You have not been convicted of a drug-related offense or participated in a court-supervised drug diversion program unless this is your first conviction or diversion program
- You have not been dishonorably discharged from the U.S, military
- You are not subject to a court order prohibiting you from possessing firearms
- You are not required to register as a sex offender in Oregon or any other state
- You have no outstanding arrest warrants
- You have not been found mentally incompetent or committed to the Oregon Health Authority following a judicial determination of mental illness
- You have been charged with a felony criminal offense and are you out of custody awaiting trial, sentencing, or appeal
Finally, to get a CHL in Oregon, you must demonstrate “competence with a handgun.” You can satisfy the competency requirement in one of the following ways, for example:
- Complete a State-approved hunter education or hunter safety course
- Complete a National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course—assuming that handgun safety was part of the course
- Complete a law enforcement firearm safety or training course
Like Washington, Oregon is considered a “shall issue” state. That means, Oregon must issue you a CHL if you meet the statutory requirements set forth in ORS 166.291.
How do I apply for a concealed handgun license?
First, you must complete the required CHL application. You can request this application in-person, by mail, or access it online from your local county sheriff's website.
Second, you must apply in-person at your local county sheriff's office. You must bring with you a valid Oregon driver's license or equivalent State issued ID. You must also submit to being fingerprinted and photographed as part of the application process.
The CHL application costs $50. The Department of State Police charges an additional $50 to run your fingerprints.
How do I renew my concealed handgun license?
To renew your CHL, you must follow the same procedures as you did for your original application, except for the fingerprint and character reference requirements. The fee for renewal fee is also $50.
Note that once your CHL expires, your license stays valid for up to 45 days assuming the following has occurred: you applied for renewal before your original license expired, you have proof of your renewal application, and (of course) your renewal application has not been denied.