Call for a Case Review 206-829-8415

Do juveniles have to register as sex offenders in Washington?

There is no distinction between adults and juveniles when it comes to sex offender registration requirements in Washington.

Washington requires sex offender registration for juveniles convicted of sex offenses.  In some cases, the local sheriff's office will even notify the community at large about the conviction.  

How long do juveniles have to register as sex offenders?

Indefinitely.  

This may surprise many people, who probably assume that juveniles have to register for lot less time than adults.  But it's the opposite.

Under Washington law, there is no automatic expiration date for registration.  Whether you committed a serious sex offense when you were 18 years old or a low level sex offense when you were 15 years old, it makes no difference.

To remove your registration requirement, you will have to file a written petition in superior court and prove that you are no longer a danger to the community.  

How long do juveniles have to wait before they can terminate their duty to register?

Between 2 and 5 years.

Unlike some adults, all juvenile sex offenders have to go to court to remove their sex offender registration requirement.  But juvenile are eligible to file their removal a lot sooner than adults.  

Under Washington law, two (2) factors determine your eligibility timeline:

  • The type of conviction
  • Your age at the time you committed the crime

Juveniles less than 15 years of age at the time of the crime

  • Class A felony: 2 years
  • Class B felony: 2 years
  • Class C felony: 2 years
  • Gross misdemeanor: 2 years

You also are eligible for removal after 2 years if your conviction occurred in federal, tribal, or military court or in state court outside Washington.  

Juveniles 15 years of age or older or at the time of the crime

  • Class A felony: 5 years
  • Class B felony: 2 years
  • Class C felony: 2 years
  • Gross misdemeanor: 2 years

You are eligible for removal after 2 years unless you have committed the equivalent of a Class A felony, in which case you have to wait 5 years. 

 

Case Review

Contact us for a Case Review. We are available 24/7, including weekends and holidays.

1420 5th Avenue
Suite 2200

Seattle, WA 98101
206.829.8415
206.829.8545 (fax)
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun: 08:00am - 06:00pm

Menu